Westworld

Westworld cancelled after 4 seasons by HBO

It seems you can’t move for cancelled shows, particular the kind of cult TV I gravitate towards. No sooner has the CW cancelled a raft of titles (most recently Stargirl) than HBO brings the hammer down on Westworld. It seems core actors will still be paid for season 5, but a drop in audience / costs / ratings… means it’s no more for this Christopher Nolan / Lisa Joy series. Cancelled Sci Fi analyses the situation and is of the view the show won’t be saved as HBO will write off investment for tax, rather than see the show succeed elsewhere. It’s almost like they’re really a business!

I’ve not seen the show (I believe it’s on Sky Atlantic), but I might well have tried at least a season given the chance. As to Nolan and Fry, I suspect their new series for Prime Video The Peripheral will keep them busy for a few seasons!

One thought on “Westworld cancelled after 4 seasons by HBO

Leave a comment