Britbox International

BritBox is dead — long live ITVX (and britbox)

A few months ago, I noted the sale of ITV’s holding in BritBox International to BBC Studios. I tried to be clear, but it’s a weirdly confusing topic. Sat here in the UK, we tend not to spot details such as we had BritBox UK, not International. I thought I’d return to the topic in the interest of greater clarity.

What happened to BritBox (as we knew it in the UK)?

There is no more BritBox UK as a company, and the service is now embedded within ITVX (with no impact on subscription I believe). Trying to visit the BritBox website takes you to ITVX Help with the following note:

BritBox has moved home and is now available to watch on ITVX with an ITVX Premium subscription.

The BritBox app and website are closing permanently at the end of April 2024.

With an ITVX Premium subscription, you get the entire BritBox catalogue, including all the BBC content, and more…

What about overseas customers?

They still get BritBox International, which I note styles itself as britbox. That service is part of BBC Studios, the commercial wing of the BBC. It’s that one I want to see evolve as the BBC does. I hope that’s all a little clearer.

Leave a comment