Ralf Little leaves Death in Paradise

As Ralf Little leaves Death in Paradise, I wonder what next?

It’s been a curious series 13 for Death in Paradise, with plenty of change, cameos from the past and even the odd murder to solve! Ralf Little has left the building (so to speak) and as the BBC marks his time on the show (claiming with some reason it to be a success), it’s natural to wonder what next?

The next detective

The show’s DNA is British DI comes to St Marie as a classic fish out of water. We’ve had four white males, and while I would expect some reaction, isn’t now the time to change at least one of those elements? I’ve seen (for example) suggestions of Diane Morgan, certainly an interesting idea, and while I could randomly throw some names into the hat (Anna Maxwell Martin, one of the cast of Ghosts…) I have no real idea.

I do know some things from the article at the top. The Christmas Special is filming in the next few months, then series 14. Revealing the next DI at Christmas is an interesting thought, as would be a one-off return for Ardal o’Hanlon, and perhaps we’ll just get a detective happens to be on holiday for Christmas.

Either way, I suspect we’ll know the name of the actor sooner than later.

What else?

I think we’ll get another season with Dwayne though leaving at Christmas could happen, but it feels like a lot of change in the team all at once. I actually wonder if the next DI will (over two series) see a total change in the team. Catherine still has the restaurant / bar, and the commissioner will cross swords with yet another DI.

Oh, and we may even get the odd murder!

Leave a comment