D&D 2024 rulebooks — what (and how) to buy [UPDATED]

Wizards of the Coast has started a whole host of reveals for the 2024 version of Dungeons & Dragons 5E. Is it a 5.5 version or even a 6? Not sure, but it is different enough for Wizards to produce more rulebooks. Of course, they want us to buy them, hence the push to preorder the whole lot now in both physical and digital format.

Is it right for you? It’s not ticking my boxes, and I’ll explain why — it may help you make up your own minds. [UPDATE at bottom with more price options]

Why pre-order?

I get many fans suffer from the need to buy the latest thing as soon as possible. I did with several releases over the past year or so, and regretted some more than others. Here’s the release dates:

  • 2024 Player’s Handbook – 17 September 2024
  • 2024 Dungeon Master’s Guide – 12 November 2024
  • 2024 Monster Manual – 18 February 2025.

And yes, if you grab it all now in both formats you attract a saving of $60. Reality is you’re paying for content eight months in advance. If budgets are tight, I’d argue this is a poor choice. Remember also the books will get cheaper within (at an estimate) six months.

It still makes sense for some.

Which books do I want?

I use DNDBeyond a lot (you may not). I want both the 2024 PHB and 2024 DMG digitally. Should I preorder those? Apart from a possible (and slight) benefit of early access, I don’t want a whole set of free digital assets. It’s not interesting to me at all.

Do I want to bundle books and digital? This is a harder question. When I got back into D&D last year, I grabbed a sale bundle of the three core books, plus Mordenkainen’s. I grabbed Tasha’s Cauldron sometime later. The truth is I skimmed the PHB and DMG a few times, now hardly look at them. I may well get them anyhow, as I like having the physical object, but may not rush.

A to the Monster Manual. I never look at my copy, nor have I a digital copy. The large bulk of creatures come if you have several adventures, else seem easy to find online.

This leaves me toying up a couple of bundle / not-bundle options.

What am I likely to do?

DND PHB 2024

I will start logically with the PHB 2024. I will buy this early enough to get a week’s access with my subscription if I remember, else grab for $29.99. In the UK that’s just around £24/25. In the UK, the physical bundle is £65. Checking Amazon, pre-order for the PHB 2024 is just over £41, and pre-order guarantee will give a lower price if one happens. You may not be an Amazon buyer. You may rather grab a copy in your FLGS (I guess it will be higher).

I think I will pre-order the Amazon soon, and see how it does. If the price ends up much lower than my FLGS, I will repeat for the DMG (already under £40 on Amazon). I’m also checking with them for when they will be able to take pre-orders.

UPDATE — 28 June

My FLGS wants £45 for the PHB (OK, £44.99), but I’ve now found it for around £30 online in the UK. I suspect that’s me sorted.

What are you planning? Let me know in the comments.

Leave a comment