The Acolyte -- Bazil

The Acolyte disaster explored

Since I wondered if/when The Acolyte will get cancelled due to poor ratings, I’ve dug around further. Some of the noice around this being far more interesting than the show. It turns out the flames surrounding the show’s perceived unpopularity were recently fanned by none other than Kathleen Kennedy (Lucasfilm president). And it’s all my fault… ish.

I’m referring to the Fandom Wire piece “It is not normal for a series to be at 16% on Rotten Tomatoes”: Kathleen Kennedy Blaming Male Star Wars Fans for The Acolyte Failure Falls Flat as Fans Point Out Fallout Had a Female Lead Too.

It seems I don’t want to accept a female lead. Well I didn’t really like Ahsoka, so it must be true (though a lot of people did). Then again, look through this blog and there’s more than one show I watch with a female lead (though not enough have been made in many genres I like). Kennedy’s language talks about show’s failing — prescient?

In passing I note Rotten Tomatoes is now showing 84% critics, 14% audience. It’s a big disparity. Also note other shows have disparities (not to this scale) such as recently released, three episodes in, season 4 of The Boys. Here the numbers are 95% and 52%.

Leave a comment